New York State USBC Bowling Association News
Kulick, Allen Rise to Top at PBA East Region Tournament in Hornell

Hornell, N.Y. (October 4, 2015) – Kelly Kulick of Union, N.J. and Patrick Allen of Mt. Kisco, N.Y. scored victories in the PBA East Region’s doubleheader weekend at Maple City Bowl in Hornell, N.Y.
View Full Article

LeClair Tops Ventura for Lakeview Lanes Eastern Open Crown

Fulton, New York. (Sept. 20, 2015) – Brian LeClair of Albany, N.Y., outscored Sammy Ventura of Syracuse, N.Y., by 182 pins over 17 games to win the PBA50 Lakeview Lanes Eastern Open presented by Brunswick at Lakeview Lanes Sunday.
View Full Article

Bohn III Rolls Three Perfect Games, Wins Howell Lanes East Open

Howell, N.J. (Sept. 13, 2015) – Parker Bohn III of Jackson, N.J., rolled his third perfect game of the weekend to defeat Ernie Segura, Jr. of Taylor, Mich., 300-191, in winning the PBA50 Howell Lanes East Open presented by Radical at Howell Lanes Sunday.
View Full Article

*Welcome to the New York State USBC Website *


Just click on logo

You Can Promote Your Business
on the New York USBC Website


CLICK HERE for a list of the NYS USBC
Championships Tournaments for 2015-16

Hara’s 300-779 Highlights
NYS Open Senior Action

OCTOBER 12, 2015 -- A perfect game by Abe Hara of Geneva (Lake Ontario USBC BA) en route to a 779 effort in Class B Singles highlighted the opening weekend of the NY
S Open Senior Championships at Lakeview Lanes in Fulton.
Hara, 68, (photo at right) put together games of 258-300-221 on lanes 19-20 on Saturday afternoon. His 779 sits atop the Class B (age 65-69) Singles division by a wide margin, and helped him to a 1,346 total in the Six-Game Combine, which also is in first place. The right-hander entered the tournament with a 233 average.

In Super Senior (75-and-over) Singles, 85-year-old Joe Higgins of Fulton (Fulton USBC BA) posted 749 with handicap to move into the top spot. Higgins (173 average) rolled games of 214-237-172.

CLICK HERE for current standings.

The tournament drew 51 Doubles teams over the weekend, and more than 70 are entered for the closing weekend (Oct. 17-18). To enter, contact NYS USBC Association Manager Mike Pettinella at or at 585-343-3736.

Remaining available squad times are as follows:

Saturday, Oct. 17 – 10:45 a.m. squad, 3 lanes. No other openings on Saturday.
Sunday, Oct. 18 – 10:45 a.m. squad, 7 lanes; 4:30 p.m. squad, 8 lanes.

CLICK HERE for an entry form.

CLICK HERE for hotel information.

Around NYS – Sept./Oct. 2015

Bowling Event ‘Strikes Out’ HD

NEW YORK CITY – Frames Bowling Lounge at 550 9th Ave. is teaming up with New York Giants’ offensive guard Geoff Schwartz to “Strike Out HD” – a bowling event benefiting the Huntington’s Disease Society of America.

The event is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. Oct. 26, and consists of two hours of bowling, drinks, light food and auction prizes. The cost is $100 per person (with $40 tax deductible). Fundraising opportunities are available by going to

Huntington’s Disease is a fatal genetic disorder that causes the progressive breakdown of nerve cells in the brain. It has no cure.

For more information about the benefit, contact Rebecca Mooney at 212-242-1968, ext. 209.


Nicole (Nikki) Ryan of Johnson City placed first at the USBC Women’s Championships this year in Reno, Nev.

Ryan rolled 224-177-253—654 to capture the $1,000 first prize. She topped the list of 148 women who cashed in the event.

Liz Johnson Successfully Defends
U.S Women's Open Championship

SEPTEMBER 6, 2015 - Defending champion Liz Johnson of Cheektowaga, New York, already may be in the United States Bowling Congress Hall of Fame, but she was able to add another huge accomplishment to her legacy Sunday with a win at the 2015 Bowlmor AMF U.S. Women's Open in North Brunswick, N.J.

The 41-year-old right-hander defeated her Team USA teammate Shannon O'Keefe of O'Fallon, Illinois, 190-189, to claim her fourth U.S. Women's Open title, breaking a tie for second place on the event's all-time win list behind fellow USBC Hall of Famer Marion Ladewig, who won eight times.

Johnson earned $50,000 and the coveted green jacket for the win, while O'Keefe took home $25,000 as the runner-up.

CLICK HERE for more on Johnson's big victory.

NYS USBC Gearing Up
for Tournament Competition

SEPT. 1, 2015 – The New York State USBC heads into the 2015-16 bowling season with a full head of steam, once again offering an array of championship tournaments for its adult bowlers.

A few changes are in store for some of the events, including the NYS Masters Championship in March in Oswego and the NYS Open Championships in April and May in Utica.

To download entry forms for the tournaments, go to the Tournaments page.

Here is a rundown of our adult tournaments, with changes highlighted in red:

MARCH 5, 2016 -- OSWEGO


The Masters Championship, the state’s premier scratch singles tournament, is the feature event of the opening weekend of the Super Bud Bowl at Lighthouse Lanes.

Proprietor Bob Hoefer said he plans to run a special 4-person Team tournament on Friday night (maximum of 24 teams), prior to the Masters on Saturday and the opening squad of the Super Bud Bowl on Sunday. He also plans to run an optional finals for the opening squad of the Super Bud Bowl. In other words, there will be plenty of opportunities for NYS bowlers over that three-day period.

For the Masters, the field will be limited to 144 bowlers – a maximum of 72 per squad – and competitors will be permitted to enter only once. Qualifying squad times are 9:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.

Once again, the guaranteed first prize is $2,500, and a paid entry to the 2017 USBC Masters.




Reservations are being taken through Nov. 1 (with payment due by Dec. 1) and entries close on March 18, 2016, for the tournament, which will run for five weekends at the two bowling centers. Queens Championship participants have preference for reservations for the weekend of April 15-17 until Nov. 1.

 The NYS USBC office staff will do its best to accommodate requests, but specific times cannot be guaranteed. For a list of current reservations, go to the Tournaments page.

The Sunday Team squad times have been revised, so please check the updated entry form on the Tournaments page.


Once again, $2,000 will be added to the scratch singles tournament from the NYS USBC, with the prize list based on entries. Each squad will have a maximum of 90 bowlers – six bowlers per pair of lanes using up to 30 lanes.

Semifinalists will be determined by five-game scores from the total field. For details on the number of bowlers who advance, see the entry form on the Tournaments page. One in four will cash in both the Open and Classified (194-and-Under) divisions.

The entry fee is $65. Entries close on March 16.

APRIL 16-MAY 15, 2016 – UTICA

The NYS USBC returns to Utica for the first time in seven years to conduct the four-weekend Open Championships’ Team, Doubles, Singles and All-Events competition. Team and D/S events will alternate Saturdays and Sundays in an attempt to accommodate as many bowlers as possible.

New this year: An entry closing date of April 9 (unless extended). Team captains are urged to get their teams together and sign up as soon as possible to avoid missing out.  Only paid entries received by the final closing date will be considered.

Please note that the D/S squads on Sundays, April 17 and May 1, are set for 9 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. and may have six bowlers per pair depending upon the number of entries.

Also, bowlers with averages of 220 or higher are allowed to compete in scratch brackets only.

For more information, contact Mike Pettinella, NYS USBC Association Manager, at

Brose is New USBC Northeast Regional Manager

JUNE 8, 2015 -- The United States Bowling Congress has named Ben Brose as the new Northeast Region manager, replacing Robin Marshall, who has been assigned to the South Region.

For more, please click on the Associations tab.

Back to Top